Skip Navigation Links

Our History

In the late 1950s, brothers Donald and George Derham, claims supervisors at Allstate and Royal insurance companies, started their own insurance brokerage. In 1962, Don Derham became an agent of the State Farm insurance companies. His business quickly grew from the first dollar to a $10,000,000 agency through the simple philosophy of treating his clients in a professional, but neighborly manner.

In May of 1993, Don's son, Don Derham, Jr., started the Inter Insurance Agency brokerage operation to broaden their business and better serve their existing clients who wished to purchase insurance products outside of the State Farm agency system

In November of 1996, Don Jr. opened the Manhattan office of Inter Insurance Agency. To assist the agency with its growth, Don Jr. brought on Chinh Nguyen to manage the Manhattan office, focusing on more diverse clientele. Chinh is fluent in 3 languages: English, Japanese, and Vietnamese. A year later, Socorro Sanchez joined the Manhattan office as office manager, and works closely on the agency efforts in the Filipino market.

On February 14, 1998, Donald Derham passed away and the agency portion of Inter Insurance was opened. In the following year, the agency established its commercial division as part of its continued growth and vision to become a full-service wholesale brokerage and underwriting facility, including policy issuance and risk management services.

In June of 2000, Rollin Becker joined Inter Insurance to spearhead the captive agency marketing effort as well as to maintain relationships with our premier direct market. Rollin had a successful 20-year career at State Farm in Mineola, New York.

July of 2001 marked the conclusion of a five-year project in the development of an offshore agency-owned insurance captive, The International Underwriting Insurance Company of Barbados. This captive aims to target the writing of specific high-quality risks. The program is still under development through outside consultants and reinsurance experts whose purpose is to continue to cultivate a relationship and work with Insurance Carriers and Reinsurers for Program business opportunities. An administration company, JRPG Administrators, Inc., was formed for the business development and daily operation of the Japanese Restaurant Purchasing Group and other similar business and niche program administration opportunities.

In October 2002, Tom Cirrincione joined Inter Insurance from HRH as Senior Vice President in charge of the Wholesale brokerage and Specialty programs. Tom brought over various specialty programs and is a national expert in Contingent and Excess Coverage. Inter Insurance became the runoff manager of a defunct cover holder and has successful re underwrote this book of business. It is currently a correspondent for the Underwriters at Lloyd's. It has specific underwriting skills in Commercial Physical Damage, Motor Truck Cargo, Contractors Equipment Floaters, Garage Keepers Legal Liability and Ocean Marine Coverage. The Agency's commercial division will continue to focus on the development of standard and specialty programs through retail agents. Its main focus is to develop an underwriting culture for all its retail partners.

Long Island

380 North Broadway, Suite 400
Jericho, NY 11753
Phone: 516.352.7500
Fax: 516.437.0435
Hours: Mon-Sat 9am-6pm
directions_car

Times Square

1674 Broadway, Suite 305
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 212.725.7310
Fax: 212.725.7350
Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm
directions_car

6th Avenue

1350 Avenue of the Americas, Suite 426
New York, NY 10019
Phone: 646.503.3901
Fax: 212.725.7350
Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm
directions_car

Florida

230 Monument Avenue
Kissimmee, FL 34741
Phone: 407.842.5300
Fax: 407.205.2442
Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm
directions_car

Long Island

Rollin Becker
Senior Vice President
Phone: 516.352.7500x1401
rbecker@interinsurance.com
email
Robert Driscoll
Chief Financial Officer
Phone: 516.352.7500x1303
rdriscoll@interinsurance.com
email
Gina Gorry
Claims Manager
Phone: 516.352.7500x1301
ggorry@interinsurance.com
email
Tom Cirrincione
Senior Vice President
Phone: 516.352.7500x1304
tcirrincione@interinsurance.com
email
Bonnie Okula
Account Executive
Phone: 516.352.7500x1404
bokula@interinsurance.com
email
Mark Papagni
Director of Financial Services
Direct: 516.804.4861
Phone: 516.352.7500x1321
mpapagni@interinsurance.com
email
Mike Petillo
Account Executive
Phone: 516.352.7500x1326
mpetillo@interinsurance.com
email
Trip Derham
Technical Underwriter
Direct: 516.784.4536
Phone: 516.352.7500x1306
tripderham@interinsurance.com
email
Teresa Jordan-Corbett
Senior Account Executive
Phone: 516.352.7500x1313
teresa@interinsurance.com
email
Joyce Grossfeld
Commercial Specialist
Phone: 516.352.7500x1403
jgrossfeld@interinsurance.com
email
George Natali
Producer
Phone: 516.352.7500x1402
gnatali@interinsurance.com
email
Cornelia Senti
Human Resource Manager
Phone: 516.352.7500x1320
csenti@interinsurance.com
email
Patrick Mulligan
Account Executive
Phone: 516.352.7500x1315
pmulligan@interinsurance.com
email
Celeste Alfano
Producer
Direct: 631.553.4872
Phone: 516.352.7500x1311
calfano@interinsurance.com
email
Paul Derham
IT Manager
Direct: 516.724.6900
Phone: 516.352.7500x1703
pderham@gmail.com
email
Don Derham
Legal Counsel
Direct: 516.840.1098
Phone: 516.352.7500x1319
donderham@interinsurance.com
email
Elizabeth Veras
Marketing Representative
Phone: 516.352.7500x1307
everas@interinsurance.com
email
Shobie Barnes
Account Executive
Phone: 516.352.7500x1314
sbarnes@interinsurance.com
email
Ruby Singh
Receptionist
Phone: 516.352.7500x1300
ruby@interinsurance.com
email
Edward Sign
Compliance Manager
Phone: 516.352.7500x1308
esign@interinsurance.com
email

Times Square

Tim Derham
Head of the Board of Directors
Direct: 516.384.3187
Phone: 212.725.7310x1310
tderham@interinsurance.com
email
Socorro Sanchez
Vice President of New York Operations
Direct: 212-725-7310
Phone: 212.725.7310x1502
msanchez.inter30@insuremail.net
email
Dan Gonzalez
Account Executive
Phone: 212.725.7310x1305
dgonzalez@interinsurance.com
email
James Flanagan
Business Development Manager
Direct: 631.561.7648
Phone: 212.725.7310x1203
jflanagan@interinsurance.com
email
Kiyome Hirose
Japanese Account Executive
Phone: 212.725.7310x1505
khirose@interinsurance.com
email
Teddy Derham
Account Executive
Direct: 516.547.8112
Phone: 212.725.7310x1011
teddyderham@interinsurance.com
email

6th Avenue

Fuyo Toyoda
Director of International Division - Insurance Consultant
Direct: 646.503.3901
Phone: 646.503.3901x1506
ftoyoda@interinsurance.com
email

Florida

Chris Van Dett
Underwriter
Phone: 407.842.5300x1309
cvandett@interinsurance.com
email
Devika Ramnarain
Account Executive
Phone: 407.842.5300x1309
devika@interinsurance.com
email